Starting the WAHM Life

The last time I posted here, I was still pregnant and working in the office.

Fast forward months later… and here I am, an actual work-at-home mom with an almost 2-month-old baby.

So, how did I get started with my work from home journey?

At seven months pregnant, I was still contemplating on whether to give up my office job or not. After all, I was an employee there for more than five years and I was still happy with what I was doing.

woman-typing-writing-windows.jpg

However, when I imagined leaving my baby with a nanny, my mind changed. I just can’t fathom the idea of leaving my child behind for hours. When my daughter finally arrived, I stuck to this decision all the more.

Making the decision to be a work-at-home mom was not easy at all. I had a good job and shifting to a freelance career was very risky. For all I know, I might not get a job at all. Competition in the freelancing world is very stiff these days.

So, two months before I gave birth, when I was already on maternity leave, I started looking for prospects.

The first client I had was referred by a LinkedIn contact who was already a very successful freelancer. I was hired as a virtual assistant/writer, however, I decided to move on to another job after three weeks as I felt unfit for the tasks at hand.

After several other interviews, some of which were unsuccessful, I decided to contact my former clients.

I have mentioned in my other blog posts that I used to work at home (that was around five years ago) before I decided to go back to an office-based job.

So I started going through my emails and contacted my former clients, sending them proposals.

Luckily, one of them was looking for someone with my skillsets and decided to hire me for a full-time job. She understood that I was going to have a baby and we made arrangements of me going part-time for a while before gradually going back full-time when I am already settled.

And that’s how I started my work-at-home journey. I’m currently working part-time, and at the same, taking care of my newborn full-time. It’s not that easy, but with a supportive husband, I’m able to survive the daily challenges of a work-at-home mom.

More of this on my next post.

2 thoughts on “Starting the WAHM Life

  1. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.|

    Like

Leave a comment